Arizona State University Wins 2013 Mora Award

You know that we are strong supporters of Día de los Niños, Día de los Libros. Last year, we created the first Día Blog Hop featuring 20 Latino authors or illustrators on the blogs of 20 Latina bloggers. L4LL believes in the work that Latino authors, illustrators, independent publishers, librarians and like-minded organizations are doing to promote literacy within the Latino community.

So we are happy to share with you this year’s winner of the 2013 Estela and Raúl Mora Award for the most exemplary culminating celebration of El día de los niños, El día de los libros/Children’s Day, Book Day.

For the first time, an educational institution has received the award and the $1,000 prize. Arizona State University’s celebration began with sounds of trumpets vibrating, guitars strumming and folkloric dancers moving to renditions of traditional mariachi favorites. Throughout the festivities, 500 students sixth through twelfth grade accompanied by their teachers had the opportunity to participate in reading and writing themed workshops hosted by local authors Tom Leveen, Angela Morrison, Aprilynne Pike, Janette Rallison, and Bill Konigsberg. Adding to the festivities were authors Alberto Rios, Myrlin Hepworth and Gary Soto who provided students motivating and empowering words. Students received free books, were able to meet and greet the authors and had the opportunity to have their books signed. Notably, the English Education Department planned and implemented this interactive celebration.

The Estela and Raúl Mora Award was established by author and poet Pat Mora and her siblings in honor of their parents and to promote El día de los niños, El día de los libros/ Children’s Day, Book Day, also known as Día. Culminating celebrations of this year-long initiative that links all children to books, languages, and cultures are traditionally held on or near April 30. The Mora award is presented annually, in partnership with REFORMA, the National Association to Promote Library & Information Services to Latinos and the Spanish Speaking.

Joliet Public Library, Salt Lake County Library Services, and Waukegan Public Library each received the Mora Honor Award for their outstanding celebrations.

Bravo, Arizona State University and to all the other organizations across the country who celebrate Día!

Leave a Reply